Your account
Manage project notificationsBelong to multiple workspaces
Get invited to a workspaceJoin other workspacesSwitch between workspacesCreate a new workspaceLeave a workspace
Change your passwordUnlock your accountTroubleshooting loginReceiving emails from Dovetail
More articles
Help homeThe basicsYour account

Belong to multiple workspaces

Workspaces contain projects, users, and billing. You can belong to multiple workspaces at the same time, with different accounts, and switch between them.

Dovetail’s multiple workspace feature is designed primarily for agencies and consulting firms who work with multiple clients and want to keep all data and users separate between clients. Each workspace is completely separate.

Get invited to a workspace

The most common way for people to join a workspace is to ask someone who’s already in the workspace to send you an email invite:

  1. Ask someone in the workspace to invite you..

  2. Check your email inbox for an invite email from Dovetail.

  3. Click Join [name] on Dovetail in the email to accept the invite.

  4. Set your name and password for your account for this workspace.

  5. Click Accept invite to join the workspace.

Join other workspaces

In some cases you’ll be able to add yourself to workspaces that you’re eligible to join. Your eligibility to join a workspace without an invite depends on your email address and the configuration of the workspace. Learn more about domain-restricted sign up.

  1. Open the profile menu in the bottom left of the screen.

  2. Click Workspaces.

  3. Under Workspaces you can join, click a workspace.

  4. Set your name and password for your account for this workspace.

  5. Click Join workspace to join the workspace.

When you join another workspace you’ll assume the Viewer role. In order to make changes to the workspace you’ll need someone in the workspace to update your role to User or AdminLearn more about managing user roles.

Switch between workspaces

Once you’re in more than one workspace, you can switch between your workspaces by logging in to another workspace. You can be logged in to multiple workspaces at the same time, so you don’t have to enter your password every time.

  1. Open the profile menu in the bottom left of the screen.

  2. Click Workspaces.

  3. Click the workspace you want to switch to.

  4. If prompted, type your password for this workspace.

Create a new workspace

You can create your own workspace at any time. Note that each paid subscription is only for one workspace. When you create a new workspace, you’ll be starting a new free trial.

  1. Open the profile menu in the bottom left of the screen.

  2. Click Workspaces.

  3. Click New workspace.

  4. Set your name and password for your account for this workspace.

  5. Click Start free trial.

Leave a workspace

To leave a workspace:

  1. Open the profile menu in the bottom left of the screen.

  2. Click Workspaces.

  3. Click the workspace you want to leave.

  4. Click Settings.

  5. Click Users.

  6. Next to your name, open the menu and click Remove from workspace.

Note: Workspaces must have at least one admin, so it is not possible to remove the last user from a workspace. If you’re the last user, you can delete your workspace instead.

Was this article useful?
Authors
Benjamin Humphrey
Co-founder / CEO
Article info
Last updated 9 July 2020
3 min read

Get help

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Search through our articles or contact our support team and get a response within 24 hours.

Get help