Using Stories

Introduction to storiesCreating, editing, and sharing stories
Create new storiesAdd references to stories from searchEditing your storiesSharing your storiesMaking your story private
Finding storiesOrganize content with the block editor
More articles
Help homePlaybackUsing Stories

Creating, editing, and sharing stories

Create new stories

Start creating a new story from anywhere in the product using the global create button.

  1. Click the + Create button in the upper right corner.

  2. Click New story.

  3. Use the block editor to add new references and edit your content.

When viewing search results, you can easily add references to an existing story or create a new one by simply clicking the add to story icon in the top right corner of the reference card.

  1. Hover on the reference card.

  2. Click the Add to story icon.

  3. Name your new story or select an existing story to add the reference.

  4. Repeat this to add more references, or click Go to story on the modal in the lower right corner of your screen.

You can also bulk select and add highlights, notes, tags or insights to a story.

  1. Go to the relevant highlight, note, tag or insight page.

  2. Select all items that you would like to add to the story.

  3. Click Add to story on the modal at the bottom of the screen. Click Go to story on the modal in the lower right corner of your screen.

Editing your stories

Organize content with the block editor to tell structure your stories. This editor allows you to add references to Dovetail objects, insert images and illustrations, organize content into multi-column layouts, add sticky notes, structure your story with headers and much more.

Sharing your stories

Stories can be shared by copying and sending the URL with your teammates.

  1. Click the Share button in the top right corner of the story.

  2. Click Copy link to clipboard.

  3. Share the link with your teammates.

Stories can be seen by anyone in your workspace.

Making your story private

To make a story private to only you, click on the Share button in the top right, and click the Private toggle. Only the author of the story can make a story private, or make it public again.


Was this article useful?

Authors

Matt Russell

Product Manager

Article info

Last updated 24 March 2022
2 min read

Get help

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Search through our articles or contact our support team and get a response within 24 hours.

Get help
Get started, free forever

Start free
A few of our customers

See more customers →
Atlassian
autodesk
canva
gitlab
glossier
shopify
universalmusic
vmware
Products

PlaybackMarkupBackstageEnterpriseIntegrationsCustomersPricingStatusLog in