All help articles/Organize your content

Edit and merge highlights

2 minute read
Last updated August 17, 2018

Screenshot of multiple selected highlights

Dovetail offers a bulk editing mode to help you move highlights around and re-organize your tags and insights. Using bulk editing, you can merge two tags or insights together, add highlights to insights, or remove a tag or insight from multiple highlights at once.

To enter bulk editing mode, visit a tag or insight and click Edit multiple:

Screenshot of the ‘Edit multiple’ button on a tag or insight

Add a tag or insight

Screenshot of cursor over the add button

To add another tag or insight to multiple highlights:

  1. Click the checkbox on the first highlight you’d like to modify.
  2. Select other highlights, or hold Shift and click to select a range.
  3. Click Add in the top right of the bulk edit header.
  4. Type to select an existing tag or insight, or create a new one.
  5. The tag or insight you choose will be added to the selected highlights.

Replace the tag or insight

Screenshot of cursor over the replace button

To replace the existing tag or insight with another one on multiple highlights:

  1. Click the checkbox on the first highlight you’d like to modify.
  2. Select other highlights, or hold Shift and click to select a range.
  3. Click Replace in the top right of the bulk edit header.
  4. Type to select an existing tag or insight, or create a new one.
  5. For the selected highlights, the current tag or insight will be replaced with the one you chose, and they will disappear from this screen.

Remove a tag or insight

Screenshot of cursor over the remove button

To remove the existing tag or insight from multiple highlights:

  1. Click the checkbox on the first highlight you’d like to modify.
  2. Select other highlights, or hold Shift and click to select a range.
  3. Click Actions (···) then Remove in the top right of the bulk edit header.
  4. The current tag or insight will be removed from the selected highlights, and they will disappear from this screen.
All help articles/Organize your content