All help articles/Organize your content

Manage access to projects

2 minute read
Last updated November 14, 2018

Screenshot detailing the ‘Manage access’ dialog for a project

Control access to ‘lock down’ a project so only some people can make changes or delete the project. Access controls are available on the Business and Enterprise plans.

To manage access for a project:

  1. Open a project.
  2. Click the Actions (···) menu near the top right.
  3. Click Manage access…

Access levels

There are four access levels: Full access, View and edit, View only, and No access. The table below details what each level means in terms of what people can and can’t do.


Permission Full access View and edit View only No access
See project
View content
Create content
Edit content
Delete content
Rename project
Archive project
Delete project
Manage access

Team access

Team access lets you quickly control access for everyone in the team. By default new projects are set to Full access for all team members.

Below are some examples of how you can use team access in conjunction with individual user access levels to control access to a project.

Example 1

Make the project view only for everyone in the team except certain people by setting team access to View only and giving View and edit access to individual users.

Example 2

Hide the project for everyone in the team except certain people by setting team access to No access and giving View and edit access to individual users.

Example 3

With team access set to Full access and an individual user to View only, note the user can still edit the project because the user belongs to the team, so they have full access.

All help articles/Organize your content