All help articles/Manage your account

Belong to multiple workspaces at once

Last updated March 29, 20192 minute read


Workspaces contain projects, users, and billing. You can belong to multiple workspaces at the same time with one user account. You can also switch between workspaces instantly without needing to log out and log back in.

The multiple workspace feature is designed for agencies and consulting firms who work with multiple clients, and want to keep all data and users separate between clients.

Get invited to a workspace

The most common way for people to join a workspace is to ask someone who’s already in the workspace to send you an email invite:

  1. Ask someone in the workspace to invite you to the workspace.
  2. Check your email inbox for an invite email from hello@dovetailapp.com.
  3. Click the Accept invite button to accept the invite.

If you don’t already have a Dovetail account, you’ll be prompted to set your name and a password in Dovetail when you accept the invite.

If you do already have a Dovetail account and you’re in a different workspace already, you’ll be taken to the workspaces page, where you can click Join to join the workspace.

Join other workspaces

In some cases you’ll be able to add yourself to workspaces that you’re eligible to join. Your eligibility to join a workspace without an invite depends on your email address and the configuration of the workspace. Learn more about domain-restricted sign up.

  1. Click the workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Join or create workspace.
  3. Under Other workspaces, click Join to join other workspaces.

Switch between workspaces

Once you’re in more than one workspace, you can switch workspaces instantly:

  1. Click the workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click the workspace you want to switch to.

Create a new workspace

You can create your own workspace at any time. Note that billing is at the workspace-level.

  1. Click the workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click Join or create workspace.
  3. Click New workspace.

Leave a workspace

To leave a workspace:

  1. Click the workspace name in the top left.
  2. Click the workspace you want to leave.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Click Users.
  5. Next to your name, open the Actions (···) menu.
  6. Click Remove and confirm in the dialog.

Made in Australia by 🐨Auzzies and 🥝Kiwis

© Dovetail Research Pty. Ltd.

ABN: 84 615 270 025