Workspace admins can upgrade from a trial at any time.
Workspace admins can manage billing in Dovetail. Update your subscription, credit card, and organization details without needing to contact us.
Like many cloud products, our pricing model is based on seats (sometimes referred to as ‘per-user pricing’). You pay for the number of seats you need for people who contribute content to Dovetail. Read-only viewers are free. We chose this pricing model since it’s simple to understand and matches how most customers use Dovetail.
We require a minimum of 5 seats on subscriptions. Get in touch to learn about our discounts for non-profits, academic customers, and freelancers.
A seat is a billing spot for an admin or a user. A seat is not for a specific user, and can be filled by any specific admin or user at any time. You can swap out who ‘sits’ in a seat as much as you like with no change to your bill. Seats are paid for in advance.
An admin or user is someone who can edit content in Dovetail. They will be managing the workspace and contributing and analyzing data. Admins and users are typically researchers, designers, and product managers. Admins and users require a seat.
A viewer is someone who doesn’t contribute content or analysis to Dovetail, like stakeholders, managers, clients, or other teams. Viewers have read only access and cannot edit anything. Viewers are free, and they do not require a seat.
Admins, users, and viewers all have a secure account to log in to Dovetail using their email address and password or OAuth2 via Google. Project access control can also be applied to admins, users, and viewers to restrict access to specific projects.
We accept payments by credit card. Pay by invoice (via credit card or wire bank transfer) is available when making single payments above $2,500 USD.
To upgrade your workspace to a paid subscription:
You can change the number of seats and manage your payment preferences at any time from the subscription management screen. When you change the number of seats, we will calculate and pro-rate the difference automatically.
If you add more seats, you’ll need to pay a bit more to make up the difference.
If you remove seats, we’ll apply some credit to your account for future use. Note: You cannnot remove ‘filled’ seats. First remove users from your workspace or convert them to viewers, then reduce the number of seats in billing.
To update your subscription:
If you’re paying for your subscription by credit card, then we’ll automatically charge your card at the start of each billing period (month or year). Please ensure your card details are up-to-date and you have enough funds available for the payment.
To update your card details:
Customer details includes your organization name, billing email, and your full organization address. This information is used by us for tax purposes, and the email address is where payment receipts, pricing updates, and other important announcements are sent. It’s important you keep these details up-to-date.
To update your customer details: