All help articles/Manage your workspace

Manage users in your workspace

Last updated January 21, 20191 minute read

In Dovetail, users and projects are contained inside workspaces. When you sign up for the first time, we’ll create a new workspace for you. Anyone can invite people to a workspace, but only the workspace administrator can remove users or change the admin.

Invite people

You can invite other people to your workspace to share your projects. If you’d like to control what projects they can view and edit, read the help article Control who can view and edit projects.

To invite other users:

  1. Click Projects.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click the Users tab.
  4. Type an email address in the input.
  5. Click Send invite.

Remove people

Only workspace administrators can remove people from the workspace. As the workspace administrator, follow these instructions:

  1. Click Projects.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click the Users tab.
  4. Next to a user, open the Actions (···) menu.
  5. Click Remove.

Leave a workspace

To leave a workspace you’re in:

  1. Click Projects.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click the Users tab.
  4. Next to yourself, open the Actions (···) menu.
  5. Click Remove.

Change the admin

The workspace admin can transfer administrative privileges to another user in the workspace. Follow these step-by-step instructions:

  1. Click Projects.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click the Users tab.
  4. Find the user you’d like to transfer admin rights to.
  5. Open the Actions menu (···) next to the user.
  6. Click Transfer admin.