All help articles/Organize your data

Control who can view and edit projects

Last updated January 21, 20192 minute read

Access controls let you manage who can view, edit, or manage a specific project. This feature is available on the Business and Enterprise plans.

Get started

To manage access for a project:

  1. Open a project.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Access.

Access levels

There are four access levels: Full access, View and edit, View only, and No access. Here are the permissions granted to users at each access level:

Permission Full access View and edit View only No access
See project
View content
Create content
Edit content
Delete content
Rename project
Archive project
Delete project
Manage access

Workspace access

Workspace access lets you quickly control access for all users in the workspace. By default, all new projects are set to Full access for everyone in the workspace (“open by default”).

Below are some examples of how you can use workspace access in conjunction with individual user access levels to control access to a project.

Example 1

Make the project view only for all users in the workspace, except certain people, by setting workspace access to View only, and giving View and edit access to individual, specific users.

Example 2

Hide the project for everyone in the workspace, except certain people, by setting workspace access to No access and giving View and edit access to individual, specific users.

Example 3

With workspace access set to Full access and an individual user to View only, the user will still be able to edit the project because the user belongs to the workspace where they have been granted full access.