Working with Files

Repository Files and AttachmentsUploading and working with attachmentsUploading repository files
Uploading a fileEdit the title of a fileDeleting (and recovering) a file
Getting to a file in your repositoryPreviewing and sharing files in DovetailReferencing files in stories
More articles
Help homePlaybackWorking with Files

Uploading repository files

Repository files are standalone records in Dovetail. They do not need to be attached to any other object and can be found using search, referenced in stories, and have collaboration features like comments, likes, and views.

Uploading a file

To upload a file to your Dovetail repository:

  1. Click the global create button (+), then click upload file.

  2. Select your file from the file picker. You can select up to 50 files at a time in your file picker.

  3. Click “Open” in the file picker to start the upload process.

  4. You’ll be taken to the Recent page, and see the progress of your upload reflected in the bottom right corner.

  5. Your new file(s) will be visible in the recent page. The title of the file will inherit the filename, without the file extension. Where possible, previews will be generated and display as soon as they’re ready.

Note: Files up to 10GB can be uploaded to your Dovetail repository.

Note: We don’t have limits storage limits at this stage, but we will be monitoring usage, and may impose a storage limit in the future.

Edit the title of a file

You can edit the title of a file from its preview page. To edit the title of a file:

  1. Click on the file's file card

  2. Click the “Edit” button on the top right.

  3. When edit mode is active, you can select and change the title inline.

  4. When you’re done, hit “Finish Editing”.

Note: There are no direct file-editing capabilities at this point.

Deleting (and recovering) a file

Press the Actions (···) menu in the top right when previewing a file, and select “Delete” from the menu.

Your file will now be in the Trash (found in the menu under your profile photo).

If you deleted it by mistake, you can put it back from the trash screen.

Was this article useful?

Authors

Matt Russell

Product Manager

Article info

Last updated 24 March 2022
2 min read

Get help

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Search through our articles or contact our support team and get a response within 24 hours.

Get help
Get started, free forever

Start free
A few of our customers

See more customers →
Atlassian
autodesk
canva
gitlab
glossier
shopify
universalmusic
vmware
Products

PlaybackMarkupBackstageEnterpriseIntegrationsCustomersPricingStatusLog in